Page Header

About Us

Lab Receives Joint Commission Two-Year Accreditation

December 07, 2017

OVER THE LAST TWELVE MONTHS MMH LABORATORY DID 750,000 LAB TESTS FROM 250,000 LAB SPECIMENS FROM OVER 80,000 PATIENTS. MMH Lab has received a 2-year accreditation by the Joint Commission. Members of the MMH Lab staff pictured above: (from left to right, front row) Jessica Woxland, Tina Hatch, Administrative Director, and Renee Barto; (second row) Jodi, White, Derek Cappiello, Melissa LaPage and Cathy Smith; (third row) Mark Brouillette, Senior Director Practice and Professional Management, Dan O’Keefe, Dr. Philip Bridgman, Pathologist/Medical Director and Scott Weaver.
By demonstrating compliance with the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organization’s national standards for health care quality and safety, Massena Memorial Hospital Laboratory has once again earned the Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval. The award of accreditation is for two-years.
“I congratulate the entire lab staff for an excellent survey and for their continued dedication in providing the best lab services in the North Country,” said Robert G. Wolleben, FACHE, Chief Executive Officer. “We sought accreditation for our organization because we want to demonstrate our commitment to patient safety and quality care. We view obtaining Joint Commission Accreditation as another step toward achieving excellence.”
The two-day unannounced survey was extremely thorough, explained Tina Hatch, Administrative Director of Laboratory. The surveyor reviewed all areas of the lab; to include: Hematology, Urinalysis, Coagulation, General Chemistry, Special Chemistry, Point of Care, Histology, Microbiology, Blood Bank, Serology, Phlebotomy, Specimen collection and handling, and Quality Management.
Hatch explained “This is our first survey employing the Safer Matrix grading process. It is a chart format that at a glance, ranks all citations noted, this matrix place the majority of our lab’s in the low/limited category. In fact the surveyor noted when she arrived that she knew MMH’s Lab is a high performer, and she expected us to do well.”
The whole survey is a quality review of required standards. Everyone throughout the entire building is part of the survey. The prime focus may be the laboratory but the lab intertwines with the entire patient stay and all areas of the hospital are involved in the patient’s care.
“The surveyor takes a tracer approach by tracking a specimen from the time of collection through the processing, handling and to a final report,” Hatch added. “The surveyor reviewed employees’ qualifications and evaluates each area in the lab; the quality of the equipment, environment, how patients are handled and the overall quality assessment of the entire laboratory’s day to day processes.”
She added the success of the lab is due to the dedication and hard work of our employees and their experience. The Lab staff has been through a lot of inspections and everyone knows what is expected from them.  
During the two-day survey, samples were taken and examined by tracing them from start to finish, Hatch explained. The surveyor reviewed the laboratory equipment, and validation studies were examined to ensure our lab is meeting standards, but it’s the daily work of the employees that makes for a good survey. 
“The Lab staff is amazing and work wonderfully together. They have gone the extra mile to make sure we are in compliance while getting all the patient testing completed in a timely manner,” Hatch said.
 “We are always amazed with the volume of tests and quality of work produced on a monthly bases by our laboratory department/professionals and appreciate the validation from the Joint Commission that our laboratory department is a high caliber hospital laboratory meeting and exceeding all the rules and regulations for patient safety,” said Mark Brouillette, Senior Director of Practice Management and Professional Services.
Members of the Laboratory Team include: Kaneta Cameron, Kristie Cole, Carlyn Cole, Jodi White, Renee Barto, Dan O’Keefe, Cathy Smith, Scott Weaver, Amy Wilson, Ralp Anoos, Amy Batten, Christine Gallinger, Kim Hughes, Michael Chambers, Heather Harvey, Pamela Monroe, Kandy Talbot, Rick Tremblay, Kevin Ward, Derek Cappiello, Melissa LaPage, Allianne Love, Tom Savage, Jessica Woxland, Jamie Thomas, Tina Hatch, Administrative Director, Phillip M. Bridgman, M.D., Medical Director and S. Scott Smith, M.D., Associate Medical Director.